Accessible Page Links

Page Tools

Main page Content

Student leadership

The development of leadership skills will benefit children now and into the future. As such we provide and promote opportunities for students to develop those skills and actively participate in their school life.
The student council is comprised of ten female and ten male year 6 students nominated by their class. Council members regularly meet with the senior Deputy Principal, and work on projects identified by students as important. The council also nominates charities to support and school improvements to make, which they fund through various school fundraisers they coordinate throughout the school year.
House Captains are nominated at the end of the year 5 school year, with successful candidates stepping into their elected role in year 6. One female and one male student will each be chosen as House Captain and Vice Captain to represent their school’s sporting houses. Buderim Mountain State School has four sporting houses, each named after an aboriginal word for a sporting activity; Iterra, Cheropin, Walla and Yuamala.
School Captains and Vice Captains are also nominated through a peer voting process at the end of year 5, after giving speeches and going through a campaign process. One female and one male student is chosen as School Captain and Vice Captain.
Buderim Student Leaders 2019

School Captains: Laila S. and Tommy O.

School Vice Captains: Sophie Y and Eamon S.

School Councillors:  

Girls: Laila S. Sophie Y. Poppy C. Samaya C. Inez C. Elandi F. Billie M. Bridget M. Skye M. Anna W.

Boys: Tommy O. Eamon S. Liam A. Talen B. Alastair E. Noah H. Adam O. Lochlann P. Billy W. Luke W.

House Captains and Vice Captains:

Cheropin Captains: Emma S. and Riley L.

Cheropin Vice Captains: Olivia K. and Archie P.

Iterra Captains: Sam M. and Ruby O.

Iterra Vice Captains: Zahli L. and Damon E.

Walla Captains: Joshua T-S. and Markani W.

Walla Vice Captains: Eve T. and Kyan G.

Yuamala Captains: Kiralee A. and Jude Y.

Yuamala Vice Captains: Marva W. and Sebastian D.